Lyford Cay Foundation receives record number of applications – Eye Witness News

NASSAU, BAHAMAS – Lyford Cay Foundation Awarded More Scholarships in 2022 for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Programs More than ever as motivated students grapple with the major challenges of our time.

Dr. Nicolas Virgil Rolle (Lyford Kay Foundation)

Hurricane Dorian and the COVID-19 pandemic have had a major impact on scholarship recipients, with many eager to fill gaps in areas related to climate change and healthcare.

“We have received hundreds of applications for scholarships this year, perhaps more than ever,” said Dr. Nicola Virgil Ruhl, Executive Director of the Foundations.

This indicates the demand for educational assistance. Meanwhile, the task of independent screeners to select beneficiaries from a distinct pool of applicants is becoming more and more difficult.”

27 new scholarships were awarded in 2022 and the institutions will support the academic endeavors of 58 students over the period 2022-2023.

This includes students like 18-year-old Matthew Bethel, a graduate of St George’s High School who will study mechanical engineering at the University of Guelph.

“What inspires me most is the country’s lack of equipment to recover from hurricanes, as Hurricane Dorian explained,” Bethel said in an article for The Foundations.

“Mechanical engineering is such a broad subject that I would like to contribute to the Bahamas in many ways.”

Thirteen recipients hail from New Providence, 11 from Grand Bahama and one from Abaco.

Fifty-two percent of the award recipients are first-generation college students, including Dinesha Demerit, first recipient of the Sir Godfrey Kenneth Kelly Alumni Award. Demeret will pursue a master’s degree in public health epidemiology at the University of Minnesota so that she can help the Bahamas address potential epidemics and address health care inequalities.

“I believe it is my responsibility to advocate for better health outcomes for those who are marginalized and to investigate health issues that are negatively impacting my community,” she said in her article.

“The goal is ultimately to advance solutions to crises through research, planning, and effective interventions.”

As the Lyford Cay Foundation continues to expand its assistance to students, Basil Goulandris, President of the Lyford Cay Foundation, expressed his gratitude for the Kelly family’s generosity for creating an award in honor of Sir Godfrey – former Minister of Education, famous legal mind, businessman and athlete.

Another new scholarship program that debuted in 2022 is the Graduate Flexibility and Excellence Awards and Technology to Study in Canada.

This year’s winners are Ranesha Higgs Price (MSc in Logistics and Supply Chain Management from the University of Windsor), and Gabriel Pintard Newry (MSc in Global Affairs at the Monk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto); Whit-Tia Morley-Barrett (Diploma in Health Information Management at St. Lawrence College), Therize Pennerman (Advanced Diploma in Mechanical Engineering Technology – Automated Manufacturing from Conestoga College Institute of Technology).

The scholarship application process for 2023 starts in February. Applicants will be assessed according to financial need, academic merit, reputation of the institution, availability of field of study in the Bahamas, professional goals and personal qualifications.

“We will continue to prioritize those who need it most,” Virgil Ruhl said.

“We also hope to receive more applications from students who hope to study in Canada because we support many educational opportunities in Canada.”

This year’s Undergraduate Scholarship recipients are: Matthew Bethel, Bachelor of Engineering at the University of Guelph. Dominic Polge, Bachelor of Science in Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography at Spring Hill College; Altea MacDonald, Bachelor of Commerce in Finance, Analytical Economics major at Concordia University; Yoshi Moxi, B.Sc. in Actuarial Science/Mathematics at Dalhousie University; Carlisa Smith, Bachelor of Science in Animal Biology, University of Guelph; Donic Wylie, BA Economics, University of Toronto; Deovant Payne, B.Sc. in Computer Science, Acadia University; Jevon Pratt, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering at Howard Kelly Smith University, Bachelor of Science in Computer Science at Acadia University.

This year’s Graduate Scholarship recipients are: Terenique Pollard, Master of Science in Architectural Research and Design at Tulane University. Denisha Demeret, Master of Public Health in Epidemiology, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities; Jed Gray, Master of Science in Public Health, University of Western Ontario; Ranesha Higgs Price, MSc in Logistics and Supply Chain Management at the University of Windsor; Lachan Martin, MA in Marine Studies at BPP University; Gabriel Pintard-Newry, MA in Global Affairs, The Monk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto; Leandra Monsami, Master of Science in Data Science at the Technical University of Catalonia and Amber Turner, Master of Science in Natural Resources and Environmental Management at the University of the West Indies.

In addition, scholarships for technical programs have been awarded to: Kia Cartwright, Advanced Diploma in Child and Youth Care at Seneca College; Elijah Stevens, Artist Diploma in Piano Performance at the Royal Conservatory – Glenn Gould School, University of Toronto; Therize Pennerman, Advanced Diploma, Mechanical Engineering Technology – Robotic Manufacturing at Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Education; Witt-Tia Morley-Barrett, Diploma in Health Information Management at St. Lawrence College; Maitland Lowe, Associate of Applied Science in Diesel Technology at Northeastern Junior College; Yasmine Balfour, Associate of Science in Dental Hygiene at PIMA Medical Institute; Megan Francis, Ontario College Advanced Diploma in Respiratory Therapy at Fanshawe College; and Antonik Greenslad, Associate of Science degree in Aviation Maintenance Science at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: